FREE DELIVERY IN METROPOLITAN FRANCE, MARTINIQUE & GUADELOUPE FROM € 29 PURCHASE

Our eco-responsible commitments

Our vision of beauty

The Banana tree: use and history

Our founder & quot; Banana Hacker & quot;

Our team with the & quot; banana & quot;

Our scientific committee

Our planter partners

Our institutional partners

Our network of mentors

Banana at the heart of cell regeneration

Our exclusive Banana bio-actives

Our formulation charter

Our fragrances

All our ingredients

Journal

Press review

Price & Rewards

Events

Symbol of generosity, abundance and freedom, the banana tree is the reflection of our commitment.

Shirley Billot - CEO Kadalys

The banana tree, central plant of the Creole garden, is a generous and benevolent. Its large leaves provide shade to the species neighbors and promote their growth. All parts of the banana tree have phytotherapeutic function and utility.


Did you know?

The banana tree is not a tree, but a giant grass that can grow up to 15 meters tall! By wrapping around each other, the leaves give rise to the "pseudostem" which resembles the trunks of trees but contains no wood.

A sacred plant

For thousands of years, the Banana tree, kadali in Sanskrit, has accompanied human life and nourished the imagination. In Hindu culture, it is a symbol of beauty, femininity and prosperity. He is notably considered to be the reincarnation of the goddesses Parvati, symbol of the loving wife, and Lakshmi, goddess of beauty. It is also one of the propitiatory species, the ritual plants favoring the establishment of communication with the supernatural and invisible world. The Banana tree is an offering plant because it symbolizes both abundance and fertility. In India, women who desire a male child worship him during the month of Kārtika.

An Indian legend reports that the banana is the fruit of the lost paradise. Indeed the leaves of the variety of the plantain, called Musa paradisiaca (which means "the Banana of Paradise"), were used by Eve and Adam to clothe themselves when they were driven out of Paradise.

The Banana tree is also very present in Amerindian and Bantu cultures because it would nourish and appease the deceased. Buddha made it the symbol of the vanity of goods, of the fragility and instability of things, because its aerial part dies after bearing fruit.

The plant with a thousand uses

Nicknamed "a plant with a thousand uses", this giant and benevolent herb holds a unique place in the traditional medicine of the French Antilles.

  • Leaves: Directly applied to wounds, they have an antibiotic and healing action. In decoction with sugar, they are used to treat: colds, flu, coughs, hypertension and liver attacks. Heated, they are applied against rheumatism.
  • Sap (latex): Extracted by pressure either from the leaf seeds or from the male bud, the sap (or latex) is used in local application on superficial wounds. It stops the bleeding and promotes healing.
  • Flower: In decoction, it improves lactation and regulates the menstrual cycle of women. It also helps fight anemia by increasing the hemoglobin level in the blood.
  • Green banana: In powder, it is an excellent source of probiotic. It helps rebuild the lining of the stomach. Ripe banana: As a paste, it is applied locally against acne, bruises, oily skin. In decoction, it is recommended against bronchitis, cough, tracheitis.
  • Roots: As a dewormer in the form of herbal tea they have a strong antifungal activity; when folded, they are applied locally against abscesses and adenitis; as a cough decoction.

A unique story in Martinique

The banana tree dates from the Tertiary period. It originates from South Asia and has been part of human life for thousands of years. During these trips and through human intervention, it gradually lost its seeds.

The earliest archaeological evidence of banana cultivation can be found in Malaysia 3000 BCE. It was in 1502 that the Portuguese brought the first bananas from the Canary Islands to the Caribbean.

This plant has been with us for more than 300 years in Martinique where the royal ordinance of September 7, 1736 requires slave holders to plant 25 banana trees per detained slave. The banana is authorized for cultivation by the slaves of Martinique on a plot of land who are now free to cultivate it up to 50 feet.

At the beginning of the 20th century, banana cultivation took on its full dimension in Guadeloupe and Martinique, indeed after a cyclone had ravaged coffee and cocoa crops, bananas seemed much faster to produce and offered an opportunity to farmers of our islands. After the sugar cane crisis in the 1960s, which notably caused the closure of many distilleries, bananas quickly became the islands' main agricultural wealth.

Sustainable cultivation

The banana is a sustainable crop because it has no seasonality and is grown all year round. While the soil is left to rest, healthy plants from in vitro culture are cultivated in a greenhouse and then planted in the field. It takes about 9 to 12 months between planting a banana tree and harvesting its bunch, which then weighs, on average, 30 to 50 kg. From the 6th to the 7th month, the flower appears.

The banana tree in the world

The banana tree grows in hot and humid regions. It is essentially made up of water (80%). There are about a thousand species of Bananas, and only two types of bananas: sweet bananas (or dessert bananas) and cooking bananas.

Different types of bananas can give very different fruits like pink bananas or even hairy bananas. Banana trees grow in India, Bangladesh, Japan, Southeast Asia, northern Australia, Africa, Central and South America and the West Indies (Martinique, Guadeloupe, etc.).

In China, there is a very rare banana "the Lotus Banana" which produces a voluminous and unique flower of golden yellow color that can bloom for up to 9 months of the year. Buddhists chose it as a sacred flower which they named the Golden Lotus for its astonishing resemblance to the lotus flower and its golden color.

Find out more

To research

English

LIVRAISON OFFERTE EN FRANCE METROPOLITAINE DES 29€ D'ACHAT

Nos engagements éco-responsables

Notre vision de la beauté

Le Bananier : usage et histoire

Notre fondatrice "Banana Hacker"

Notre équipe qui a la "banane"

Notre comité scientifique

Nos partenaires planteurs

Nos partenaires institutionnels

Notre réseau de mentors

Le Bananier au coeur de la régénération cellulaire

Nos bio-actifs Banane exclusifs

Notre charte de formulation

Nos parfums

Tous nos ingrédients

Journal

Revue de presse

Prix & Récompenses

Evènements

Symbole de générosité, abondance et liberté, le bananier est le reflet de notre engagement.

Shirley Billot - CEO Kadalys

Le bananier, plante centrale du jardin créole est une herbe généreuse et bienveillante. Ses larges feuilles apportent ombrage aux espèces voisines et favorisent leur croissance. Toutes les parties du bananier ont une fonction et une utilité phytothérapeutique.


Le saviez vous?

Le bananier n’est pas un arbre, mais une herbe géante qui peut atteindre jusqu’à 15 mètres de haut ! En s’enroulant les unes autour des autres, les feuilles donnent naissance au “pseudo-tronc” qui ressemble au tronc des arbres mais ne contient pas de bois.

Une plante sacrée

Depuis des millénaires, le Bananier, kadali en sanskrit, accompagne la vie des Hommes et en nourrit l’imaginaire. Dans la culture Hindoue, il est un symbole de beauté, de féminité et de prospérité. Il est notamment considéré comme la réincarnation des déesses  Parvati, symbole de l’épouse aimante, et Lakshmi, déesse de la beauté. Il fait aussi partie des espèces propitiatoires, les plantes rituelles favorisant l’établissement de la communication avec le monde surnaturel et invisible. Le Bananier est une plante d’offrande car il symbolise à la fois l’abondance et la fertilité. En Inde, les femmes désirant un enfant de sexe masculin lui rendent un culte durant le mois de Kārtika.

Une légende indienne rapporte que la banane est le fruit du paradis perdu. En effet les feuilles de la variété de la banane plantain, appelée Musa paradisiaca (ce qui signifie « le Bananier du Paradis »), servirent à Eve et Adam à se vêtir lorsqu’ils furent chassés du Paradis.

Le Bananier est également très présent dans les cultures Amérindiennes et Bantu car il permettrait de nourrir et d’apaiser les défunts. Bouddha en a fait le symbole de la vanité des biens, de la fragilité et de l’instabilité des choses, parce que sa partie aérienne meurt après avoir porté ses fruits.

La plante aux mille usages

Surnommée « plante aux mille usages », cette herbe géante et bienveillante tient une place singulière dans la médecine traditionnelle des Antilles Françaises.

  • Feuilles : Directement appliquées sur les plaies, elles ont une action antibiotique et cicatrisante. En décoction avec du sucre, elle sont utilisées pour soigner : rhume, grippe, toux, hypertension et crise de foie. Chauffées, elle sont appliquées contre les rhumatismes.
  • Sève (latex) : Extraite par pression soit des graines foliaires soit du bourgeon mâle, la sève (ou latex) est utilisée en application locale sur les plaies superficielles. Elle arrête le saignement et favorise la cicatrisation.
  • Fleur :En décoction, elle améliore la lactation et régule le cycle menstruel des femmes. Elle permet aussi de lutter contre l’anémie en augmentant le taux d’hémoglobine du sang.
  • Banane verte: En poudre, elle est une excellente source de probiotique . Elle favorise la reconstitution de la muqueuse de l’estomac. Banane bien mûre : En pâte, elle est appliquée localement contre l’acné, les contusions, la peau grasse. En décoction, elle est conseillée contre les bronchites, la toux, la trachéite.
  • Racines : Comme vermifuge sous forme de tisane elles ont une forte activité antifongique ; pliées elles sont appliquées localement contre les abcès et les adénites ; en décoction contre la toux.

Une histoire singuliere en Martinique

Le bananier date de l’époque tertiaire. Il est originaire de l’Asie du Sud et accompagne la vie de l’homme depuis des millénaires. Au cours de ces voyages et par l’intervention de l’homme, il a progressivement perdu ses graines.

Des premières preuves archéologiques de la culture du bananier se trouvent en Malaisie 3 000 avant notre ère. C’est en 1502 que les Portugais amènent les premiers bananiers des îles Canaries vers les Caraïbes.

Ce végétal nous accompagne depuis plus de de 300 ans en Martinique ou l’ordonnance royale du 7 septembre 1736 impose aux détenteurs d’esclave de planter 25 bananiers par esclave détenus. La banane est autorisée à la culture par les esclaves de Martinique sur une parcelle de terre qui sont désormais libre d’en cultivé jusqu’à 50 pieds.

Au début du XXème siècle, la culture du bananier prend toute sa dimension en Guadeloupe et en Martinique, en effet après qu’un cyclone ait ravagé les cultures de café et de cacao, la banane semble bien plus rapide à produire et offre une opportunité aux agriculteurs de nos îles. Après la crise de la canne à sucre dans les années 60, qui occasionne notamment la fermeture de nombreuses distilleries, la banane devient vite la première richesse agricole des îles.

Une culture durable

La banane est un culture durable car elle n’a pas de saisonnalité et se culture toute l’année Pendant que la terre est laissée au repos, des plants sains issus de la culture in vitro sont cultivés sous serre puis plantés en plein champs. Il faut compter environ 9 à 12 mois entre la plantation du bananier et la récolte de son régime qui pèse alors, en moyenne, 30 à 50 kg. A partir du 6e au 7e mois, la fleur apparaît.

Le bananier dans le monde

Le bananier pousse dans les régions chaudes et humides. Il est essentiellement constitué d’eau (80 %). Il existe environ mille espèces de Bananiers, et seulement deux types de bananes : les bananes douces (ou bananes dessert) et les bananes à cuire.

Les différents types de bananiers peuvent donner des fruits très différents comme des bananes de couleur rose ou même des bananes poilues. Les Bananiers poussent en Inde, au Bangladesh, au Japon, dans le sud-est de l’Asie, dans le nord de l’Australie, en Afrique, en Amérique centrale et du sud et aux Antilles (Martinique, Guadeloupe…).

En Chine, il existe un bananier très rare « le bananier Lotus » qui produit une fleur volumineuse et unique de couleur jaune d’or dont la floraison peut durer jusqu‘à 9 mois de l’année. Les bouddhistes l’ont choisie comme fleur sacrée qu’ils nommèrent le Lotus d’ Or pour sa ressemblance étonnante avec la fleur de lotus et sa couleur dorée.

En savoir plus

}

Rechercher